Half way there.

24 Mar

Thursday was the last full day of school for me and everyone else in the program, which was bittersweet. I have grown to really like many of my classmates during these past couple of weeks, and to know our time has come to an end is sad.

Friday we packed into a bus and taxi and headed to Sihanoukville to spend one last weekend together.

If Phnom Penh, is hectic and foreign, then Sihanoukville is seedy and completely westernized. During the day, the small beach town is like any other, but at night it turns into a huge permanent spring-breaker infested place. While I did have fun relaxing on the beach all weekend with friends, certain events left me with a negative vibe for the place as well as a couple of people. If I learned anything this weekend it is that as much as you might wish the best for some people, you can’t let their mistakes and irresponsibility affect your mood.Image

A lazy afternoon in Sihanoukville.

Moving on!

Tomorrow I begin my practice teaching at an “orphanage” in Phnom Penh and follow-up with teaching the local street kids around the hotel. I am so nervous because I don’t know how I’ll do in a classroom, but at the same time I am excited to teach these kids something valuable. Teaching the street kids will be very challenging I think, because there will be like 30 of them, and many haven’t had much classroom experience. I guess I will find out tomorrow though!

Wish me luck!

6 Responses to “Half way there.”

  1. Paullen March 24, 2013 at 10:31 AM #

    Good Luck! I know you’ll do great… So proud of you!!! ❤

    • vitaviva96 March 24, 2013 at 7:11 PM #

      Awww thanks BFF. Come visit soon. 🙂

    • Anna-Kate King March 24, 2013 at 8:58 PM #

      BE CAREFUL! I don’t like this partying thing on the beach, sounds dangerous. Don’t drink anything they give you! And as for the street kids, remember where I put my things if I don’t have pockets, and put your stuff in there like i do!!! (PS they make bra-pockets/zippers now, i’m getting one!) But teaching at an orphanage is absolutely amazing!!! I’m so jealous 😦

      • vitaviva96 April 11, 2013 at 4:07 AM #

        AK, I wasn’t partying! I actually ended up not feeling well and had to go back to the hotel.
        The street kids were fine, my partner and me starting calling them the little river monsters. 😛
        Teaching at the orphanage was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had and I really miss my class!

  2. anm05 March 24, 2013 at 10:39 AM #

    you’ll do great, Meghan (: keep on keeping on ❤

    • vitaviva96 March 24, 2013 at 7:10 PM #

      Thanks, girl! You’re going to do great as well!

Leave a Reply

