A loss for words.

18 Mar

Phnom Penh is chaotic.
There does not seem to be any real order here, which I guess is an order in itself.

Each morning, in the tuk-tuk ride to school, this statement is made even more true by all the hustle and bustle of this growing city.

What sticks out to me the most is the varying smells. Sometimes the air is perfumed with flowers or grilled meat, but just as I catch a scent of something pleasant, the exhaust fumes and ever piling garbage from the streets, assault the nose.
Here it is dirty, dusty, and run down. But, it is also beautiful in a way that I am not yet able to place my finger on.

Cambodia is overwhelming to say the least. I hope that as I spend more time here, I will be able to find the words that justly describe this complex place that I now call home.

Leave a Reply

